2019-20 Hawaii Gatorade State Player of the Year selections

Twelve Hawaii high school student-athletes were named as a 2019-20 Gatorade State Player of the Year for their respective sports of football, girls volleyball, girls and boys cross country, girls and boys basketball, baseball, softball, girls and boys soccer, and girls and boys track & field.

2019-20 Hawaii Gatorade State Players of the Year:

» Football: Jayden de Laura, Saint Louis (Washington State)
» Girls Volleyball: Elena Oglivie, Iolani (Stanford)
» Girls Cross Country: Emily Naylor, Kalaheo (2022)
» Boys Cross Country: Hunter Shields, Maui (2021)
» Girls Basketball: Caiyle Kaupu, Konawaena (UC Irvine)
» Boys Basketball: Christmas Togiai, Kamehameha (Embry-Riddle, Prescott)
» Baseball: Kalai Rosario, Waiakea (MLB/Cal Baptist)
» Softball: Liliana Thomas, Maryknoll (2021)
» Boys Soccer: Johnnie Dodge, Punahou (Sonoma State)
» Girls Soccer: Teani Arakawa, Kekaulike (2021)
» Girls Track & Field: Chenoa Frederick, Kamehameha-Hawaii (Hawaii)
» Boys Track & Field: Trenton Wailehua Jr., Saint Louis (Oregon)

All Gatorade State Players of the Year win a trophy, and their schools receive a banner to display.

Additionally, through Gatorade's "Play It Forward" program, all 607 State Gatorade Player of the Year recipients are empowered to award a $1,000 grant from Gatorade to a community organization that helps young athletes realize the benefits of playing sports. Gatorade State Players of the Year may also submit an essay explaining why the organization they chose is deserving of one of 12 Spotlight Grants, which awards $10,000 to the organization.

The Gatorade State Player of the Year award was established in 1985 to recognize the nation's most outstanding high school student-athletes based on the criteria for:
     » Athletic Excellence: standout performance in high school, club, national or international competition.
     » Academic Achievement: review of GPA, class rank, SAT and ACT scores, and academic honors.
     » Exemplary Character: commitment to sportsmanship, character and community.

The Gatorade Player of the Year Selection Committee administers the selection process for Gatorade State and National Player of the Year awards. All final selections result from a collaborative effort and are made by the Gatorade Player of the Year Selection Committee.



Memorable Matchups - Kahuku vs. Kaiser, Sept. 16, 2014

Kalawaia Judd's three total TDs and an inspired defense lifted the Cougars to its first win over the...

Bulldogs used second-half rally to edge Rough Riders

Waialua went on to finish 7-3 in 2016 and captured its first OIA football title in more than six decades.

Top Performers Flashback: Micah Kaneshiro

Na Menehune quarterback threw six touchdown passes in a blowout win over Kaimuki on Sept. 14, 2013.

HHSAA's 'no-contact period' concludes

The edict, which came down on July 20 and was extended on Aug. 17, expired Sunday.

Memorable Matchups - Waianae vs. Campbell, Sept. 13, 2013

Isaac Hurd accounted for four total touchdowns in the Sabers' comeback win over the Seariders.

Golden Hawks rallied often en route to league title in '14

Nanakuli's 21-14 win over Kaimuki was its first of five come-from-behind victories that season.